ADVERTISEMENT

Just some thoughts, while contemplating 20K

Plainosooner

Sooner starter
Oct 20, 2002
Plano, TX
I love team sports, and especially college football. My love for football was born from working for Plano HC, John Clark, the greatest coach I ever worked for. That's quite a statement, given that at various times at OU, I worked for Jimmy Johnson, Barry Switzer, Jimmy Dickey and four other then assistants who at one time in their careers were college head coaches.

But team sports are too often way different than they used to be, and not in a good way.

There was a time, a very long time, when the real value of team sports was about teaching the individuals to submit what might be good for them, for what was good for the team. That has changed since I was a student 42 to 49 years ago, and chasing a football around a practice field to get it spotted for the next snap.

This elevation of "me," to the detriment of the team makes it harder to win, and really defeats what ought to be going on. You ought to owe your best to your teammates. And that includes doing your job, and not violating rules to show off so everybody can see you scored a touchdown, forgetting that everybody had to do their job right to get your there.

So I have little affection for NFL touchdown dances.

I love it when an underdog wins, doing things the right way. And I despise ESPN's promotion of those who'd promote themselves.

A couple of people have told me over the years here, that my best post ever, was a tribute to Jack Mildren shortly after his way premature passing now seven years ago. I knew Jack pretty well. He gave me the nickname "Plano" in my first month as a student manager at OU. I think he was amused by my passion for Wildcat football, and a bit annoyed that I genuinely believed that my AA State Champs were the equal to his AAAA State runners up in 1967, his senior year. And I was wrong about that.