ADVERTISEMENT

OT: Think way back... who was your first 'Sports Idol' ?

WhyNotaSooner

Sooner starter
Gold Member
Nov 1, 2004
Now this thread shouldn't be strictly for Sooner athletes, although I would guess there would be quite a few. But this is a diverse board with many posters from all over. So think way back. Who was yours?

Mine would be Rusty Staub. I couldn't have been more than 5 yrs old, maybe even 4. Anyway, I remember my Dad taking me to a Colt 45's game. The Colt 45's had a few quality baseball players for a start up franchise team BTW. Staub, Joe Morgan and even Jimmy Wynn. They just couldn't afford to hang on to them as they were building a domed stadium back in the day. Anyway, I clearly remember him a s young boy. I have no idea whatever happened to them, but at the game, Dad bought a small pkg of B&W glossies of Staub (for autographs I imagine).

Oddly, being a fan of the sport of football never entered my life until I started playing at age 10.

Great question WNAS.
Mickey Lolich of the Detroit Tigers.
His performance in 67 and 68, a slump and then being the hero of the 68 World Series will never be forgotten. Denny McLain won a record 31 games in 68, but Lolich's 3 wins, 3 full games, little rest... against a great Cardinals team in the World Series lit my sports fuse.

Great question WNAS.
Mickey Lolich of the Detroit Tigers.
His performance in 67 and 68, a slump and then being the hero of the 68 World Series will never be forgotten. Denny McLain won a record 31 games in 68, but Lolich's 3 wins, 3 full games, little rest... against a great Cardinals team in the World Series lit my sports fuse.

Damn Curt Flood! Misjudged a two out line drive that gave the Tigers the winning runs... and and Lolich the win over my favorite pitcher of the day, Bob Gibson.

Reactions: Section22Sooner
Mine would be a tie between a hall of famer and a guy half the people here never heard of.