ADVERTISEMENT

Hicks goes Texas A&M...

We have to get some of these guys if we want to be near the top of the SEC. It still seems a little far fetched that the top D lineman would choose OU...even with Venebles.

I imagine NIL has a lot to do with it. But watching that crap defense against Kansas state probably has something to do with it too.

Cash took over in ‘98; the threepeat occurred under his watch (note; I’m not necessarily giving him credit as a lot of the pieces we’re already there, just saying it happened while he was GM). What has changed though, has been at the top. Hal is an accountant by trade, & although they still do have one of the highest payrolls in baseball, he will pinch a penny way more regularly than his dad did (that’s what’s making me laugh my head off about Judge doing what he’s doing; either Hal ante’s up or he becomes the most hated man in New York. Those are his options, period.) If George saw a need, he went out & filled it without a moment’s hesitation, often in spectacular fashion. These days? Not quite as much. They’re satisfied with being good. Good was a four letter word to George.
Cashman did become GM in 1998, inheriting a team built by Gene Michael and Bob Watson, who were able to retain the corps of young players while George Steinbrenner was suspended for three years. Cashman had little to do with assembling the great teams of 1998, 1999 and 2000.
Hal Steinbrenner is about making money and he seems content to have a team contend annually, but really not be at a World Series Championship level. He provides Yankees fan with a winning team each season to keep the stadium filled. Not sure I would label Hal Steinbrenner a penny-pincher given his okaying obscene contracts to Stanton (owed $37 million through 2027), Cole (owed $36 million a year through 2028) and taking on Donalson's two-year $50 million contract last winter. Plus, Aaron Hicks has over $30 million left on his 7-year contract signed before the 2019 season.